East Lancashire Railway

 East Lancashire Railway

The East Lancashire Railway is a 12.5 mile Heritage railway based from Bury, Bolton Street station.

The line runs from Heywood to Rawtenstall it has 7 stations, passenger services were withdrawn by British Railways in June 1972, coal services were withdrawn in 1980 followed by formal closure in 1982.

In 1987 the East Lancashire Railway trust reopened the line going from Bury to Ramsbottom then in 1991 the line was extended to Rawtenstall, be fore the line closure in 1982 the line did terminate at Bacup, Rawtenstall is the lines northern limit as the formations between Rawtenstall and Bacup has been lost. In 2003 a eastbound extension to Heywood was reopened

The railway is run by volunteers and is known for its collections of Diesel Locomotive’s, the line has featured in TV programme’s like  coronation Street.

The railway is open every weekend of the year and hold a number of themed events and galas through out the year